POST TIME: 22 March, 2019 12:32:56 AM / LAST MODIFIED: 22 March, 2019 08:51:54 AM
BNP expels 165 for flouting party directive
contesting UZ pollS

BNP expels 165 for flouting party directive

The BNP has been taking action against party leaders participating in the ongoing upazila parishad polls across the country in violation of the party’s decision to not take part in any elections under the present government and Election Commission (EC). More than 150 grassroots BNP leaders in different upazilas have already been expelled for   going against the party directives, according to sources.

According to the latest list, the party has expelled seven leaders from Cox’s Bazar; six from Mymensingh; five each from Brahmanbaria and Khulna; four each from Bogura, Kustia, Magura and Rangpur; three each from Cumilla and Barisal; and two each from Chapainawabganj, Pabna, Rangamati, Bandarbans and Gaibandha.

The party expelled a total of 64 leaders before the first phase of the upazila polls held on March 10 in 78 upazilas. It also expelled about 100 more leaders till yesterday.

So far, the BNP has expelled 165 leaders, most of them from the upazilas, who held posts of vice-president, general secretary and joint secretary, said a party source. As part of party’s continued action, the BNP yesterday expelled at least 17 leaders from seven districts for participating in the third phase of the upazila elections slated for March 24. In the third phase, the EC will hold elections to 127 upazilas.

Those expelled yesterday from the party’s primary membership are Chapainawabganj district BNP joint secretary and Bhalohat upazila BNP vice president Anwarul Islam, Ashuganj upazila BNP joint secretary Selim Parvej, Nabiganj upazila Mohila affairs secretary Muchena Begum, Sorail upazila joint secretary Advocate Nuruzzaman Topu and member Shamima Akhter.

 The party also expelled Dhobaura upazila BNP member Fazal Haque, Mymensingh district BNP member Nasima Akhter Rubi, Monwara Begum, district Ainjibi forum member Quamruzzaman Kiron, Magura district BNP leader Jahangir Alam Khan Bacchu, Srinagar upazila BNP member Nargis Sultana, Bheramara upazila BNP joint secretary Md Shajahan Ali, member Anwarul Azim Babu and women affairs secretary Most Indonesia.

Besides, the party also expelled Khulna district BNP adviser Mollah Mahbubur Rahman, Dumuria upazila member Abdul Halim, Rangamati district BNP member Arjun Moni Chakma. The BNP, along with its partners in the 20-Party Alliance and Jatiya Oikyafront, took part in the December 30 election and obtained a poor result.

They only obtained eight seats from the total 300 constituencies. Later, they decided not to join Parliament, though one of the Ganaforum MPs-elect went ahead and took oath by ignoring the party decision.

In the meantime, the BNP, the major partner in each of the two opposition alliances, decided not to take part in any election under the present government and the EC.

BNP leaders see no need to take part in local government elections, for, they say, the people were deceived in the last general elections and that they do not believe that a free and fair election could be held under the present government.

 BNP standing committee member Amir Khosru Mahmud Chowdhury said they were not taking part in the election because no fair elections were being held in the country. “We will participate when there will be a fair election,” he added.

BNP joint secretary general Harun-or-Rashid said the party’s decision to not take part in the election was appropriate as the government had destroyed the electoral culture through the December 30 elections. He claimed that ballots were stuffed the night before the general election.

“So, the people are not interest in elections under the present government. The ongoing upazila polls are also witnessing a poor turn out,” he added. He alleged that the administration interfered with the election process in the absence of any democratic space. “That’s why the BNP has no alternative but to boycott the polls,” he added.