POST TIME: 24 February, 2020 12:04:21 AM
Only AL candidate’s nomination valid
BNP, JP nominations cancelled on ground of tax evasion, bank loan

Only AL candidate’s nomination valid

Nomination paper of the ruling Awami League’s candidate for Bagherhat-4 by-election was declared the only valid one yesterday – thereby paving the way for the aspirant to be elected unopposed as the nominations of BNP and Jatiya Party candidates were declared invalid.

Returning Officer (RO) Yunus Ali declared nomination of Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP) candidate Kazi Kairuzzaman Shipon invalid on the ground of municipality tax evasion while the nomination of Jatiya Party candidate Sajon Kumar Mistri was declared invalid for bank loan.

The RO came up with the declarations while scrutinising the nomination papers of the three candidates. With this, AL’s Amirul Alam Milon stays in the election race as the only valid candidate.

He said, “The nominations of BNP and JP have been cancelled. BNP candidate did not pay the bank loan and municipality tax while the JP candidate has bank loan issued against his name.”

When asked, the BNP candidate told the journalists that he would challenge the RO’s decision. “My nomination paper has been cancelled on the ground of evading holding tax. I did not get any notice about it. I would appeal to the AD against RO’s decision.”

The candidates will get time to file appeal with the Election Commission from February 24-26. The appeal would be held on February 28. The last date of the withdrawal of nomination paper is February 29. If the candidates, whose nominations have been cancelled don’t get back their candidacy, AL candidate would be declared elected unofficially on March 1.

The Bagherhat-4 constituency fell vacant following the demise of Mozammel Hossain on January 10.

On the other hand, the nomination paper of Jatiya Party’s candidate Manjurul Haque was cancelled for not submitting the party chief’s certification to be the candidate for the Gaibandha-3 by-election.

RO Mahbubur Rahman said his nomination paper was cancelled as he did not submit the party’s certification paper.

The RO, however, declared the nomination papers of other four candidates of Awami League Umme Kulsum, BNP candidate Moinul Hasan Sadiq, former lawmaker’s son of the seat Mainul Rabbi Chowdhury and Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal candidate SM Khademul Islam.