Friday 22 March 2019 ,
Latest News
  • 3rd phase UZ polls: Campaigning to end tonight
  • 3 killed in Sirajganj road crash; 19 injured
  • 9th span of Padma Bridge installed
  • Masters student among 6 killed in Barishal road crash
  • New Zealand prays, falls silent, a week after mosque massacres
  • Noted journalist Anwarul Haq passes away
  • PHR study demonstrates widespread violence against Rohingya in Myanmar
17 March, 2018 01:57:36 AM



Cool Mahmudullah stun Sri Lanka in nail-biter to set up India final
Bangladesh cricketer Mahmudull reacts after scoring the winning run to defeat Sri Lanka by 2 wickets during the sixth Twenty20 (T20) international cricket match between Bangladesh and Sri Lanka of the tri-nation Nidahas Trophy at the R Premadasa stadium in Colombo yesterday. AP Photo

Mahmudullah Riyad smashed an unbeaten 43 to help Bangladesh edge out Sri Lanka by two wickets in a bad-tempered Twenty20 and enter the final of the tri-series in Colombo yesterday, reports AFP from Colombo.

Chasing 160 for victory in a virtual semi-final, Mahmudullah steered the team home with a six on the penultimate ball but not before a heated exchange of words between the players of the two sides.

The Tigers will take on India in the final on Sunday.

Drama unfolded when Mustafizur Rahman missed two bouncers from Isuru Udana in the final over and was run out but the Bangladesh players contested the call, saying it was a no ball due to its height.

Skipper Shakib Al Hasan looked furious on the boundary and even waved to call the batsmen back to the pavilion. But sanity prevailed at R.

Premadasa stadium and Bangladesh erupted after getting the winning runs.

"You can't expect more than that in a T20 game, so much excitement, emotion," said Shakib after the win.

"We always had healthy competition in the ground, but outside, we are friends. Emotions take over, I need to be careful as a leader of a team, I will be careful next time," the star allrounder added.

Mahmudullah, who was stand-in-captain till Shakib joined the side on Thursday after recovering from a finger injury, hit 3 fours and 2 sixes during his 18-ball blitz to be named the man of the match.

"One of my best innings. When Shakib came into the team, that was a big boost. Players were eager to do well today," Mahmudullah said.

"When Shakib got out, I was under pressure. The confusion was because it was the first bumper, but we should forget it, (it) happens in the game."

But it was a crucial third-wicket partnership between opener Tamim Iqbal, who made 50 off 42 balls, and Mushfiqur Rahim, who hit 28, that set up the win for the underdogs.

Mystery spinner Akila Dananjaya claimed two wickets.

Earlier Kusal Perera and Thisara Perera struck gritty half-centuries to lift the hosts to 159-7 after being put into bat first.

The left-handed pair of Kusal (61) and Thisara (58) counter-attacked after Sri Lanka were reduced to 41-5.

Pace spearhead Mustafizur claimed two wickets.

"Very tough game, we are disappointed. We thought we were 10-15 runs short, 160 is still reasonable," said a disappointed Thisara, who was standing in as captain for suspended Dinesh Chandimal.

The tournament commemorates 70 years of Sri Lankan independence.

Meanwhile, President Abdul Hamid and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina yesterday congratulated Bangladesh cricket team for confirming the final berth in the Nidahas Trophy tri-nation T20 tournament, adds UNB.

In his message, President Abdul Hamid congratulates Bangladesh cricket team for winning the crucial match against Sri Lanka, president's deputy press secretary Abul Kalam Azad told while in her message, Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina congratulated Bangladesh cricket team for stepping into the final of the Nidahas Trophy tri-nation T20I tournament.


Sri Lanka 1st innings

D Gunathilaka c Sabbir b Shakib 4

K Mendis c Soumya b Mustafiz  11

K Perera c Mehidy b Soumya      61

U Tharanga run out          5

D Shanaka c Mushfiq b Mustafiz                0

J Mendis c Mustafiz b Mehidy    3

T Perera c Tamim b Rubel             58

I Udana not out                7

A Dananjaya not out       1

Extras (lb4, w5)                 9

Total (7wkts, 20 overs) 159

Fall of wickets: 1-15, 2-22, 3-31, 4-32, 5-41, 6-138, 7-154

BOWLING            O             M            R             W

Shakib   2              0              9              1

Rubel    4              0              41           1

Mustafiz              4              1              39           2

Mehidy                4              0              16           1

Mahmudullah    4              0              29           0

Soumya                2              0              21           1

Bangladesh 2nd innings

Tamim c K Perera b Gunathilaka                50

Liton c T Perera b Dananjaya       0

Sabbir st K Perera b Dananjaya 13

Mushfiq c T Perera b Aponso      28

Soumya c K Perera b Mendis      10

Mahmudullah not out    43

Shakib c Dananjaya b Udana       7

Mehidy run out                 0

Mustafiz run out              0

Rubel not out    0

Extras (w9)         9

Total (8wkts, 19.5 overs)               160

Fall of wickets: 1-11, 2-33, 3-97, 4-105, 5-109, 6-137, 7-148, 8-148

BOWLING            O             M            R             W

Pradeep               1              0              10           0

Dananjaya           4              0              37           2

Aponso                3              0              19           1

T Perera               2              0              20           0

Gunathilaka        3              0              24           1

J Mendis              4              0              24           1

Udana   2.5          0              26           1

Result: Bangladesh won by two wickets.



Today's Question »
State minister for power Nasrul Hamid yesterday said everyone to have access to electricity by June. Do you think the feat achievable by the timeframe?
 No Comment
Yes 54.7%
No 41.6%
No Comment 3.8%
More Sports Stories

Copyright © All right reserved.

Editor : M. Shamsur Rahman

Published by the Editor on behalf of Independent Publications Limited at Media Printers, 446/H, Tejgaon I/A, Dhaka-1215.
Editorial, News & Commercial Offices : Beximco Media Complex, 149-150 Tejgaon I/A, Dhaka-1208, Bangladesh. GPO Box No. 934, Dhaka-1000.

Editor : M. Shamsur Rahman
Published by the Editor on behalf of Independent Publications Limited at Media Printers, 446/H, Tejgaon I/A, Dhaka-1215.
Editorial, News & Commercial Offices : Beximco Media Complex, 149-150 Tejgaon I/A, Dhaka-1208, Bangladesh. GPO Box No. 934, Dhaka-1000.

Disclaimer & Privacy Policy
About Us
Contact Us

Powered by : Frog Hosting