Wednesday 22 January 2020 ,
Latest News
Myanmar panel: Security forces likely committed war crimes | AL, BNP stalwarts campaign for mayoral candidates | Trump impeachment trial set to open in US Senate | 'Gunfight’ kills ‘drug trader’ in capital | ICOE finds serious rights violation by Myanmar forces | Taka 1.17cr compensation for air crash casualty | 53.66 lakh new voters set to be enrolled: EC | Total number of media in country 3241: Minister | 10 sentenced to death in CPB bomb blast case | Govt appoints 97 new assistant judges |
10 December, 2019 00:00 00 AM


Winners react over their acts of achievement

Winners react over their 
acts of achievement
Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina hands over award to Jaya Ahsan at the ceremony. Photo : courtesy

The prestigious National Film Award for the years 2017 and 2018 were distributed on Sunday. Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina handed over the awards to the winners at a colourful ceremony at Bangabandhu International Conference Centre (BICC) in the capital.

The awards were distributed in 27 categories for the year 2017 while 28 categories for the year 2018.

‘Dhaka Attack’, an action thriller film, and ‘Putro’, a social drama film, won the best film awards for the year 2017 and 2018 respectively.

Shakib Khan Rana (Shakib Khan) and Mahbubul Arefin Shuvo (Arefin Shuvo) jointly won the best actor award for leading role in film ‘Satta’ and ‘Dhaka Attack’ respectively for 2017. The same award in the leading role category for the year 2018 went to Ferdous Ahmed and Sadik Md Saiman (Symon Sadik).

Nusrat Imrose Tisha for film ‘Halda’ and Jaya Ahsan for ‘Debi’ were given the best actress awards for 2017 and 2018 respectively.

The winners took to social media to express their reactions over winning the prestigious National Film Award, the highest recognition to those making contributions to films in Bangladesh. Here are the reactions from some award-winning artistes:


Jaya Ahsan

“A moment of sheer pride and overwhelming happiness. Received the National Award for my 1st production #Debi from our honourable Prime Minister, Sheikh Hasina.

Sincere thanks to the jury and audience for their unconditional appreciation to the film.”




Nusrat Imrose Tisha

“Very happy to receive my second National Award as Best Actress. Alhamdulillah! I dedicate this award to my father who must be very happy seeing it from the other side of the world. Missed you MSF.”



Symon Sadik

“The biggest achievement of my short life. Alhamdulillah (Praise be to God).”