POST TIME: 26 February, 2021 07:15:59 PM / LAST MODIFIED: 27 February, 2021 09:52:42 AM
Inquiry committee to be formed over writer Mushtaq’s death: Home Minister
BSS, Chattogram

Inquiry committee to be formed over writer Mushtaq’s death: Home Minister

BSS Photo

Home Minister Asaduzzaman Khan Kamal on Friday said an inquiry committee will be formed to find out the reasons behind the death of writer Mushtaq Ahmed in jail.

Mentioning that none is above the law, Kamal said, “There would be a proper investigation into the incident…if anyone is found guilty during the investigation, necessary actions will be taken against them.”

He said while talking to journalists after inaugurating the newly constructed four storied office building of Superintendent of Police (SP) in Chattogram district at city’s Sholoshahar area this morning.

“The incident took place on Thursday, we will certainly take necessary steps regarding the incident,” he added.

Responding to a question from reporters on the report of Al-Jazeera television, the Home Minister said that the conspirators have always been active in the country.

“Al-Jazeera’s report is also part of the conspiracy. However, all the attempts of the conspirators would be failed with the dynamism of us,” he added.

The minister further said that the country is moving forward under the dynamic leadership of Bangabandhu’s daughter Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina.

Deputy Minister for Education Barrister Mohibul Hasan Chowdhury Nowfel, Former Minister Engineer Mosharraf Hossain MP, ABM Fazle Karim Chowdhury MP, Shamsul Hoque Chowdhury, MP, Moslem Uddin Ahmed Ahmed, MP, Mostafizur Rahman Chowdhury, MP and Dr. Abu Reza Nadvi, MP, newly elected Mayor of Chattogram City Corporation Rezaul Karim Chowdhury, special assistant to the Prime Minister Barrister Biplop Barua, DIG of Chattogram Range Anwar Hossain, Commissioner of Chattogram Metropolitan Police, Saleh Mohammad Tanvir, Deputy Commissioner of Chattogram Mohammad Mominur Rahman, CDA Chairman Zahirul Alam Dovas, and district SP SM Rashidul Haque, among others, attended the inaugural function.