POST TIME: 23 May, 2021 02:32:25 PM / LAST MODIFIED: 23 May, 2021 03:29:48 PM
Bangladesh bat first in series opener against Sri Lanka
Bangladesh Score: 58/2 (17 overs)
UNB, Dhaka

Bangladesh bat first in series opener against Sri Lanka

Bangladesh captain Tamim Iqbal won the toss and opted to bat first in the three-match ODI series opener against Sri Lanka on Sunday at Mirpur. 

Bangladesh opening batsman Liton Das and all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan was sent back to the dugout by Sri Lanka pacer Dushmantha Chameera and spinner Danushka Gunathilaka respectively.

Bangladesh currently batting on 58/2 in 17 overs.

Hours before the match takes the field, the Sri Lanka squad went through a Covid-19 scare. Three members of the Lankan squad tested positive for Covid-19 including two cricketers but the latest PCR test revealed only one of them is positive. 

This series is a part of the World Cup Super League. Bangladesh has already played six matches of this event and won three of them. The top seven teams of this event will get a direct qualification to the World Cup 2023. 

Sri Lanka, on the other hand, played three matches of the World Cup Super League and lost all. 

With this series, Shakib Al Hasan and Mustafizur Rahman are back to the Bangladesh side after missing out on the Sri Lanka tour for a two-match Test series. 

The remaining matches will take place on May 25 and 28 respectively at the same venue. 

Bangladesh playing XI: Tamim Iqbal (c), Liton Das, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (w), Mohammad Mithun, Mhamudullah Riyad, Afif Hossain, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mohammad Saifuddin, Taskin Ahmed and Mustafizur Rahman

Sri Lanka playing XI: Kusal Perera(w/c), Danushka Gunathilaka, Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dasun Shanaka, Ashen Bandara, Wanindu Hasaranga, Isuru Udana, Lakshan Sandakan, Dushmantha Chameera