POST TIME: 12 June, 2021 02:45:54 PM / LAST MODIFIED: 12 June, 2021 08:04:17 PM
Parliamentary bypolls: AL announces candidates for three vacant seats
UNB, Dhaka

Parliamentary bypolls: AL announces candidates for three vacant seats

The ruling Awami League has announced candidates for the upcoming bypolls to the three parliamentary constituencies of Dhaka-14, Sylhet-3 and Cumilla-5.

While Aga Khan Mintu has been picked as the party candidate for Dhaka-14, Habibur Rahman has been named for Sylhet-3 and Abul Hashem Khan for Cumilla-5, the ruling party said in a release on Saturday.

A total of 94 aspirants collected nomination papers from the Awami League to try their luck in the bypolls to the parliamentary constituencies.

The Awami League said that 34 nomination papers were sold for Dhaka-14, 25 for Sylhet-3, and 35 for Cumilla-5. The bypolls are slated for July 28.

The would-be candidates collected forms from Awami League’s President Sheikh Hasia's political office in Dhmonadhi maintaining Covid-19 health protocols, said the party.

The three parliamentary seats became vacant due to the deaths of the respective MPs. Sylhet-3 MP Mahmud Us Samad died on March 11, Dhaka-14 MP Aslamul Haque on April 4 and Comilla-5 MP Abdul Matin Khasru passed away on April 14. 

As voting in these parliamentary constituencies could not take place in the first 90 days due to the Covid-induced lockdown in the country, the bypolls are  slated for next month.