POST TIME: 3 September, 2021 04:16:15 PM / LAST MODIFIED: 3 September, 2021 05:10:54 PM
Bangladesh opt to bat first in 2nd T20I against New Zealand
UNB, Dhaka

Bangladesh opt to bat first in 2nd T20I against New Zealand

Bangladesh won the toss and opted to bat first in the second T20I of the five-match series against New Zealand on Friday at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium.

Bangladesh fielded an unchanged playing XI in this match, while New Zeland made two changes, removing Blair Tickner, Jacob Duffy to pave way for Hamish Bennett, Ben Sears. While it’s the 10th T20I of Hamish, Sears is set to get his maiden T20I cap.

Sears has played 12 T20s at the domestic level and bagged 15 wickets with the best of taking four wickets conceding 16 runs.

In the first match, the hosts won by a big margin of seven wickets which was Bangladesh’s maiden victory against New Zealand in the shorter format of the game.

Shakib Al Hasan was awarded the player of the match for his two-wicket haul and 25 runs with the bat.

Mustafizur Rahman bagged three wickets for the Tigers— best by any bowler in the match. Mohammad Saifuddin, Nasum Ahmed, Mahedi Hasan were also tremendous with the ball.

For New Zealand, captain Tom Latham and Henry Nicholls scored 18 each but that was not enough for them to post a challenging total.

Bangladesh XI: Liton Das, Mohammad Naim, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Afif Hossain, Mahmudullah Riayad, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Mahedi Hasan, Mohammad Saifuddin, Nasum Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman

New Zealand XI: Rachin Ravindra, Tom Blundell, Will Young, Colen de Grandhomme, Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Cole McConchie, Doug Bracewell, Ajaz Patel, Hamish Bennett, Ben Sears